Quiet Time : “but the Bible doesn’t say anything about…”

Ezekial 16. Feel as though that’s all I need to say. E-Z-E-K-I-A-L ONE-SIX.

It’s not like Ezekial is the first person/prophet in the Bible to compare Jerusalem to a harlot, but I think it’s the shear repetiveness of this theme that makes this so important. Mankind treats God just as if we are an unfaithful wife to a loving husband. He gives us so much, and we treat him like dirt. No, I would go beyond saying that we treat Him like dirt; we are UNFAITHFUL to Him (Ez. 16:32). We delightfully play the prostitute to all kinds of unworthy idols, in such a way that completely and utterly dishonors Him.

Now up there in my title, I alluded to people who think that God doesn’t have anything to say about “fill-in-the-blank.” For some reason, reading from Ezekial this morning made me think about how people say that God doesn’t have any opinion on sexuality. I’ve heard it said that God made people and made sex, and doesn’t give an iota about what we do with our bodies. Do whatever feels good. Don’t worry about any consequences. “These people” don’t know the same God that I do. I know a completely good and a completely just God. One who can’t be in the presence of any unpure thing. That is where His wrath comes in. That is why we need Jesus.

And yet God remains faithful. None of us deserves this:

Ezekial 16:60-63 (KJV)

60Nevertheless I will remember my covenant with thee in the days of thy youth, and I will establish unto thee an everlasting covenant.
61Then thou shalt remember thy ways, and be ashamed, when thou shalt receive thy sisters, thine elder and thy younger: and I will give them unto thee for daughters, but not by thy covenant.
62And I will establish my covenant with thee; and thou shalt know that I am the LORD:
63That thou mayest remember, and be confounded, and never open thy mouth any more because of thy shame, when I am pacified toward thee for all that thou hast done, saith the Lord GOD.

+++

Read Be Careful Lest the Light in You Be Darkness, by John Piper.

“Christ is the glory we were made to see. His light alone will fill us and give the light of life and meaning to every part of our lives. And when that happens, we ourselves will shine and give off the rays of Christ. “If then your whole body is full of light, having no part dark, it will be wholly bright, as when a lamp with its rays gives you light.” “

Leave a comment

Filed under quiet time

Leave a comment